John C. Park Outstanding Civil Engineer Award

An Arizona Society award which may be made annually to a registered professional engineer in Arizona, who is a Fellow or Life Member of the Arizona Society ASCE, and who is judged to have contributed substantially to the status of the engineering profession. Nominations are made by the Committee on Award and Prizes. A wall plaque or formal certificate is given to the recipient at the annual Arizona Society Meeting, and an inscription of recipient’s name is included on the wall plaque located in the University of Arizona Civil Engineering Building.

History of the Award
John C. Park served overseas in World War I. After the war (1923), he enrolled as a Freshman in Civil Engineering at the University of Arizona. After graduation in 1926, he was appointed to the faculty of Civil Engineering at the U of A and except for time to earn his Masters of Science at Iowa State, he served the University continually until 1958. John C. Park became a Full Professor, and served as Dean of the College of Engineering from 1951 to 1958.

John C. Park, along with members of the Arizona Highway Department and the Bureau of Roads initiated the Arizona Roads and Street annual conference program. Professor Park was very active with the Arizona State Board of Technical Registration, and from 1951 was the Supervisor of Examinations as well as being a member of the Board of Technical Registration.

Because of his desire for professionalism in engineering, he was named a member of the National Council of State Boards of Engineering Examiners. He was very active in the Arizona Section of the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE), and served as President of the Section. Professor Parks served on several National Engineering Committees.

Throughout his professional and academic life, John C. Parks was a strong supporter of engineering ethical behavior, and the desire to establish engineering as a dominant profession. He wrote many articles on these subjects for national publication. Because of his professionalism, the John C. Park Outstanding Engineer Award was established in 1966. The Award exemplifies John C. Park achievements in his engineering professional and personal life.

The plaque permanently resides in the Civil Engineering Building at the University of Arizona, and is dedicated each year to a Registered Professional Engineer in Arizona and a Life Member of ASCE, who is judged to have contributed substantially to the status of the Engineering Profession by:

  • Distinguished service in the field of Civil Engineering in Arizona;
  • Significant contribution toward improving the professional aspects of civil engineering education or professional development and guidance of young civil engineers;
  • Outstanding achievement in the field of professional advancement; or
  • Other evidence of merit, which in the judgment of the Awards Committee shall have advanced the Society’s professional objective.

History of Award Recipients
The following is a list of past award winners.

Year – Recipient

2023 – Michael Worlton

2022 – Mark G. Lamer

2021 – Kent Lall

2020 – Larry Hanson

2019 – Steve Jimenez

2018 – David Monihan, Jr.

2017 – Jerry Cannon

2016 – Kent Dibble

2015 – Guy Carpenter

2014 – Stanley E. Turney

2013 – Mick Mathieu

2012 – John A. Replogle

2011 – Enamul Hoque

2010 – Michael J. Barton

2009 – Dennis Richards

2008 – A. Wayne Collins

2007 – Achintya Haldar

2006 – Robert H. Wortman

2005 – Earnest Smerdon

2004 – Kenneth Carter

2003 – Marty Rosness

2002 – Mark Woodson

2001 – Tom McGovern

2000 – Rich Perry

1999 – Ed Nowatski

1998 – Fred Nelson

1997 – Paul Cella

1996 – Margaret Peterson

1995 – Rudolf Jimenez

1994 – Phil Epstein

1993 – John Stufflebean

1992 – James Attebery

1991 – Ed Hall

1990 – Gerald Matlock

1989 – Ed Mangotich

1988 – Gene Morris

1987 – Ken Renard

1986 – Bill Wiley

1985 – Charles W. Newlin

1984 – Emmett Laursen

1983 – Jim Anderson

1982 – Wayne W. Linthacum

1981 – R. A. Jimenez

1980 – R. C. Esterbrooks

1979 – Andrew B. Marum

1978 – Ben T. Dibble

1977 – Quentin M. Mees

1976 – Clarence H. Whalin

1975 – Oscar T. Lyon, Jr.

1974 – Fred Glendening

1973 – Herman Danforth*, Dario Travaini

1972 – John Carollo*, Charles Dryden

1971 – Harold W. Yost

1970 – David J. Hall

1969 – Harold C. Schwalen

1968 – George T. Grove

1967 – Ralph Hoffman

1966 – Vic H. Householder

1965 – Erasmus S. Borgquist

1964 – Wayne O’Hara

1963 – Earle V. Miller

1962 – George E.P. Smith

*- Awarded Posthumously